The table
| Form | File size | Box | Pixels written | DPI | Source · checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SSC photo | 20–50 KB | about 3.5 × 4.5 cm | 276 × 354 | 200 | SSC CHSL 2022 examination notice, official PDF on the SSC Karnataka-Kerala regional website; later SSC notices may differ · 18 Oct 2026 |
| SSC signature | 10–20 KB | about 4.0 × 2.0 cm | 315 × 157 | 200 | SSC CHSL 2022 examination notice, official PDF on the SSC Karnataka-Kerala regional website; later SSC notices may differ · 18 Oct 2026 |
| PAN (Protean / NSDL) photo | up to 20 KB | 3.5 × 2.5 cm (height × width) at 200 DPI | 197 × 276 | 200 | Protean (NSDL) PAN online application instructions (DSC mode), official page · 18 Oct 2026 |
| PAN (Protean / NSDL) signature | up to 10 KB | 2 × 4.5 cm (height × width) at 200 DPI | 354 × 157 | 200 | Protean (NSDL) PAN online application instructions (DSC mode), official page · 18 Oct 2026 |
| UPSC photo | 20–300 KB | 350 × 350 to 1000 × 1000 px | 500 × 500 | not stated | Secondary summaries of the 2026 online application; not read from the notice itself · 18 Oct 2026 · confirm on the official portal |
| UPSC signature | 20–300 KB | 350 × 350 to 1000 × 1000 px | 700 × 350 | not stated | Secondary summaries of the 2026 online application; not read from the notice itself · 18 Oct 2026 · confirm on the official portal |
| IBPS (PO / Clerk / RRB) photo | 20–50 KB | 200 × 230 px | 200 × 230 | not stated | Widely reported figures from candidate guides; not read from the IBPS notification · 18 Oct 2026 · confirm on the official portal |
| IBPS (PO / Clerk / RRB) signature | 10–20 KB | 140 × 60 px | 140 × 60 | not stated | Widely reported figures from candidate guides; not read from the IBPS notification · 18 Oct 2026 · confirm on the official portal |
A box given in centimetres becomes pixels at the stated DPI, or at 200 DPI where the notice states none: 3.5 cm at 200 DPI is 276 pixels. Where a notice gives a range of pixel sizes, the preset writes one size inside it and the checklist accepts the whole range.
Why a file gets rejected
Outside the KB range. Too large is the familiar one; too small is the surprise. A 9 KB photo for a 20–50 KB slot is refused just as firmly as a 2 MB one. The online forms page searches the JPEG quality until the file is inside both limits.
Not really a JPEG. Renaming a PNG, or an iPhone's HEIC, to .jpg changes the name and nothing inside. Portals that check the bytes refuse it. Convert instead.
A placeholder instead of a photo. A file forwarded through a chat app or synced from the cloud can arrive as a 0-byte stub until it downloads. The converter says so rather than writing an empty JPG.
The name. Spaces, brackets, accented or non-English letters and very long names trip some portals. Portal-safe names keep ASCII letters, digits and hyphens, within 50 characters.
The signature. A grey, shadowed photo of a signature is often refused as unclear. The signature page crops to the ink and turns the paper white before sizing it.
Questions
Why does the portal reject a file that looks fine?
Is a KB 1,000 or 1,024 bytes here?
What if my notice says something different from this table?
What does “confirm on the official portal” mean on a preset?
Photos stay on your device.

